Sukhraj's Weekly Inspiration - Week of May 6th

Week of May 6th

Ahimsa = Gentle Fearlessness

Sat Nam All,

This week I am focusing on the first Yama called Ahimsa and its relationship to food in particular. The Yamas are related to your relationship to society and how you treat other living beings. Take a listen here for more.

- Sukhraj


"Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without them, humanity cannot survive."

- Dalai Lama


Lokah Samasta Sukhino Bhavantu = may my thoughts, words, and actions create happiness and freedom for all beings.


Meditation for the Fourth Chakra: Heart Center

The fourth chakra is the Heart Chakra, or Heart Center. It is called Anahata. It represents the opening of feelings, compassion, and the capacity to love. At the Heart Chakra there is no conflict; Heavens and Earth come together in balance. Heart-centered compassion is universal and unconditional.

“Hate nobody; love everybody. It won’t cost you anything. Love never costs anything. Love is the most selfish act. It gives you so much protection, grace, and radiance. It doesn’t give you any smallness or suffering. The attitude of conscious living is to love and give grace to someone worthy of your trust. Do not seek anything from people. Give love instead, and rely on God.”
-Yogi Bhajan

The Heart Center means warmth, compassion/passion, kindness/hatred—everything that is wonderful in the world and everything that is rotten on the planet all come from the Heart Center. If you set your heart on something, your head will give in; that's why it is the most powerful center, and extremely dangerous.

On the other hand, this is the only center worth living with. In behavior, you shall not understand another person's feeling accurately, intuitively, if you are not compassionate to yourself, period. Your friendship won't last, your relationship won't last, your marriage won't last, this or that won't last; because if you do not have passion for life, and compassion for the self, you do not know what life is.

Posture: Sit on your heels with a straight spine. The upper arms are parallel to the ground, on the same level as the shoulders. The elbows are bent and the fingertips are nearly touching each other at the center of the chest near the heart center. The hands are flat with the palms facing downward.

Mantra: The meditation is done to the sound of Humee Hum, Brahm Hum by Nirinjan Kaur and Guru Prem Singh. The meditation is silent, you do not chant aloud. Humee Hum Brahm Hum means: "We are We, We are God."

Focus: The eyes are focused at the tip of the nose.


Meditation: From the starting position, the hands and forearms move out to the sides, palms facing down. Pull the navel point in strongly and lift the solar plexus and diaphragm slightly in a focused motion. As the arms move back in, the navel is released. The navel is pulled in as the arms again move back out to the sides. Continue this movement, using the rhythm of the music to set the pace.

Time: 11 minutes.

To Finish: Inhale and hold the breath 15 seconds and then release. Repeat this two more times and relax.

© The Teachings of Yogi Bhajan

This meditation can be found in Physical Wisdom available through KRI


Use this Kundalini playlist for your practice and meditation.

Enjoy this Vinyasa playlist that supports your flow.

White Tantric Yoga is coming to Boulder!

White Tantric Yoga will take place in Boulder on Saturday, October 26th, 2019.

For more information and to register visit:

Take good care of yourself.
Looking forward to seeing you at Raj!